A Year at Channel View Publications

Today marks my first anniversary of joining the Channel View team. It’s not a big milestone yet (Anna and Sarah are inching their way towards an impressive decade with the company), but I thought it might be interesting to share with you a bit of what I’ve done this past year.

Having already spent 2 months on work experience here the summer before, there were no real surprises when I returned to the office, and it was good to hear about what everyone and the company had been up to in the past year. Part of what I do involves dealing with inspection copy requests, book orders, stock checks and queries in general, all of which I’d done before, so it was straight back into the swing of things for me. It was, however, a real test for me to dredge information on how to do things back up from the bottom of my brain: when I left after my work experience I never thought I’d see another of our books again, let alone be working with them!

Much of my time is spent doing marketing tasks for Elinor, such as informing wholesalers of our new titles; producing fliers and adverts and sending materials to conferences, and helping Sarah a bit with production, my favourite job being working with our designers to produce book covers. I also put books into production, so January was an exciting month as the first books that I’d worked on were published.

One of the things my friends are most envious about when I tell them about my job is certainly the travel to conferences. I feel very lucky to have already been to memorable conferences in Leeds (IALIC), New Orleans (TESOL) and Chicago (AAAL) and to have EUROSLA in Stockholm and the Frankfurt Book Fair coming up. As the vast majority of our work is done over email I love having these opportunities to meet our authors and customers and put a face to a name, as well as visiting new places.

Plant flourishing on my desk

Apart from my usual jobs, there’s often something out of the ordinary to do, be it meeting a wholesaler’s incredible warehouse robot; making our twitter-o-meter wall chart to track our ever increasing follower numbers or just tending to the office plants, one job I’m perhaps not so good at! My first year at Channel View has certainly been far from dull!

Laura

One Response to A Year at Channel View Publications

  1. sarahcvp says:

    Hooray for one year! Hopefully we can keep you here for a few more (moo-ha-ha)!

Leave a Reply

